Data-Intensive Scalable Computing Laboratory (DISCL)

Faculty and Staff Members

Name Contact Research Areas
Dr. Yong Chen
  • Data-intensive computing
  • High-performance computing
  • Parallel and distributed computing
  • Cloud computing
  • Computer architectures
  • Systems software
Dr. Yong Chen

Director, founder

Dr. Yu Zhuang
  • Email: yu.zhuang@ttu.edu
  • Website: Dr. Yu Zhuang
  • Phone: 806.742.3527
  • Office: EC-306E
  • Parallel computing
  • High performance memory system
  • Large scale computing
  • Data intensive computing
Dr. Yu Zhuang

Associate Director

Dr. Jiang Zhou
  • Email: jiang.zhou@ttu.edu
  • Website: Dr. Jiang Zhou
  • Phone: 806.392.2966
  • Office: EC-314
  • Big data
  • Distributed file system
  • High-performance computing
  • Parallel and distributed computing
  • Computer architectures
  • Systems software design
Dr. Jiang Zhou

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr. John Leidel
  • High performance computing system architecture
  • CPU micro architecture
  • Compiler architecture
  • Parallel programming models & runtime libraries
  • Graph algorithms
  • Architecture simulation
Dr. John Leidel

Adjunct Research Scientist, Chief Scientist/Founder at Tactical Computing Laboratories

Student Members

Ph.D. Students

Name Contact Research Areas
  • Email: elham.hojati@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.834.7530
  • Office: EC-304
  • Publications: CCIS'16
  • Posters: UCC'17
  • Instructor for CS4352 Operating Systems (Spring'16)
  • NSF travel award for UCC'17
  • Best Student Poster Award at UCC'17
Ms. Elham Hojati
  • Email: X-Spirit.zhang@ttu.edu
  • WebSite: Mr. Wei Zhang
  • Phone: 806.834.7247
  • Office: EC-304
  • Publications: PACT'18, CCGrid'18, HPDC'17, Cluster'16
  • Posters: SC'18, CCGrid'18, PPoPP'17
  • Distributed Metadata Indexing for Scientific Data Management
  • Graph-based Data Management System for High Performance Computing
  • Geospatial Analytics on Social Network Data
  • Internship: Lawrence Berkeley National Lab
  • NSF travel award for HPDC'17
  • TCHPC and NSF travel award for CCGrid'18
Mr. Wei Zhang
  • Email: xi.wang@ttu.edu
  • Website: Mr. Xi Wang
  • Phone: 806.742.3527
  • Office: EC-304
  • Publications: P2S2'17, WP3'17, MemSys'16
  • Posters: DAC'17
  • SC'15 Emerging Technologies forum and demo (GoblinCore-64 project)
  • Internship: Argonne National Lab, Micron Technology, Inc.
  • SC'16 student volunteer, SC'16 travel award
  • NSF travel award for ICPP'18
  • Helen DeVitt Jones Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award
Mr. Xi Wang
  • Email: ghazanfar.ali@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.724.5332
  • Office: EC-304
  • Data-centric HPC systems, Cloud Computing, Machine Learning and HPC
  • Publications:
  • Posters:
  • NSF travel award for UCC'17
Mr. Ghazanfar Ali
  • Email: frank.conlon@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.742.3664
  • Office: EC-304
  • Internship: Sandia National Laboratories
Mr. Frank Conlon
  • Email: misha.ahmadian@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.620.1834
  • Office: ESB-140
  • Publication: BDR'17
  • Poster: CoDA'16
  • Workshops: NCSI'14, NCSI'15, TACC'16
Mr. Misha Ahmadian
  • Email: daniel.dunning@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 505.670.0336
  • Office: -
  • Research interests: Parallel and Scientific Computing
Mr. Daniel Dunning

Masters Students

Name Contact Research Areas
  • Research Areas : Data-centric HPC systems Monitoring, Cloud Computing, Machine learning
Mr. Dheeraj Kumar Cidda
  • Email: jie.li@ttu.edu
  • Website(LinkedIn): -
  • Phone: +1 806.787.8258
  • Office: TLPDC-155
  • Thesis: PIMS: A Lightweight Processing-in-Memory Accelerator for Stencil
Mr. Jie Li
  • Email: brody.williams@ttu.edu
  • Concurrent Dynamic Memory Coalescing on GoblinCore-64 Architecture
Mr. Brody Williams

Undergraduate Students

Name Contact Research Areas
Mr. Zachary Hansen
  • Email: zachary.hansen@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.742.1828
Mr. Zachary Hansen
Mr. Robin Ronson
  • Email: robin.ronson@ttu.edu
  • Phone:
  • Redfish API, Conformance Testing, Cloud computing
Mr. Robin Ronson
Mr. Eduardo Culau
  • Email: Eduardo.Culau@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 334.200.7817
Mr. Eduardo Culau

Alumni

Please visit this alumni page for a list of DISCL alumni with their degree, year of graduation, and first employment.

Photo Gallery

Please visit this activity gallery page for a photo gallery of DISCL activities.