Data-Intensive Scalable Computing Laboratory (DISCL)

Faculty and Staff Members

Name Contact Research Areas
Dr. Yong Chen
  • Email: yong.chen@ttu.edu
  • Website: Dr. Yong Chen
  • Phone: 806.834.0284
  • Office: EC-315
  • Data-intensive computing
  • High-performance computing
  • Parallel and distributed computing
  • Cloud computing
  • Computer architectures
  • Systems software
Dr. Yong Chen

Director, founder

Dr. Yu Zhuang
  • Email: yu.zhuang@ttu.edu
  • Website: Dr. Yu Zhuang
  • Phone: 806.742.3527
  • Office: EC-306E
  • Parallel computing
  • High performance memory system
  • Large scale computing
  • Data intensive computing
Dr. Yu Zhuang

Associate Director

Dr. Dong Dai
  • Email: dong.dai@ttu.edu
  • Website: Dr. Dong Dai
  • Phone: 806.620.6508
  • Office: EC-304
  • Parallel file systems
  • Cloud computing
  • Metadata management
  • Graph system
  • IO scheduling and optimization
Dr. Dong Dai

Associate Director

Dr. Jiang Zhou
  • Email: jiang.zhou@ttu.edu
  • Website: Dr. Jiang Zhou
  • Phone: 806.392.2966
  • Office: EC-306
  • Big data
  • Distributed file system
  • High-performance computing
  • Parallel and distributed computing
  • Computer architectures
  • Systems software design
Dr. Jiang Zhou

Student Members

Ph.D. Students

Name Contact Research Areas
  • Email: john.leidel@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 214.578.8510
  • Office: EC-304
  • Publications: J. of Parallel Processing, LSPP'14, P2S2'15, AsHES'16, MemSys'16
  • Invited Talks/Posters: SC'15 Emerging Technologies forum and demo (GoblinCore-64 project), 2nd RISC-V Workhop, ModSim-2015, IPDPS PhD Forum-2016
  • Committee Member/Journal Review Board: Cloud 2014, PLC 2014-2015, DISCS 2013-2015, IA^3 2013-2015, HPC-15, IEEE Computer, AsHES
  • Travel award from NSF-TCPP, ICPP-15, IPDPS-16, Talkington Graduate Fellowship
  • Chair of PGAS-X Workshop
Mr. John Leidel
  • Email: elham.hojati@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.834.7530
  • Office: EC-304
  • Instructor for CS4352 Operating Systems (Spring'16)
  • Cloud Benchmarking and Testing
Ms. Elham Hojati
  • Email: neda.tavakoli@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.742.3527
  • Office: EC-304
  • Publications: P2S2'16
  • Instructor for CS2413 Data Structures
  • Travel award for FAST'16, SC'15 student volunteer
Ms. Neda Tavakoli
  • Email: wei.xie@ttu.edu
  • Website: Mr. Wei Xie
  • Phone: 806.834.7247
  • Office: EC-304
  • DISCL server and website administrator, REU-site project mentor
  • Publications: ParCo, IPDPS'17, CCGrid'17, NAS'16, ISPA'16, NAS'16, DISCS'15, BigData'15
  • Posters: NAS'16, Cluster'15, CCGrid'14
  • Instructor for CS2413 Data Structures (Fall'14)
  • Internship: Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • SC'15 student volunteer, NSF travel award for NAS'16, Cluster'15, CCGrid'14
Mr. Wei Xie
  • Email: X-Spirit.zhang@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.834.7247
  • Office: EC-304
  • Publications: Cluster'16
  • Graph-based Data Management System for High Performance Computing
  • Geospatial Analytics on Social Network Data
Mr. Wei Zhang
  • Email: xi.wang@ttu.edu
  • Website: Mr. Xi Wang
  • Phone: 806.742.3527
  • Office: EC-304
  • Publications: MemSys'16
  • Internship: Micron Technology, Inc.
  • SC'15 Emerging Technologies forum and demo (GoblinCore-64 project)
Mr. Xi Wang
  • Email: ghazanfar.ali@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.724.5332
  • Office: EC-304
  • Leveraging AI techniques (e.g. machine learning, data mining) into high performance computing (HPC)
  • Data-centric HPC system
  • Cloud Computing
Mr. Ghazanfar Ali

Masters Students

Name Contact Research Areas
  • Email: ali.nosrati@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.742.4350
  • Office: EC-304
Mr. Ali Nosrati
  • Email: frank.conlon@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.742.3664
  • Internship: Sandia National Laboratories
Mr. Frank Conlon
  • Email: yan.mu@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.742.3527
  • Office: EC-304
Ms. Yan Mu

Undergraduate Students

Name Contact Research Areas
Mr. Zachary Hansen
  • Email: zachary.hansen@ttu.edu
  • Phone: 806.742.1828
Mr. Zachary Hansen
  • Email: alexander.weaver@ttu.edu
Mr. Alexander Weaver
  • Email: yong.wu@ttu.edu
  • DISCL website administrator
Mr. Yong Wu

Alumni

Please visit this alumni page for a list of DISCL alumni with their degree, year of graduation, and first employment.

Photo Gallery

Please visit this activity gallery page for a photo gallery of DISCL activities.